The Great Gatsby, by F Scott Fitzgerald

The Great Gatsby, by F Scott FitzgeraldOur next book:

‘There was music from my neighbour’s house through the summer nights. In his blue gardens men and girls came and went like moths among the whispering and the champagne and the stars’.

Go back to a summer in the 1920’s Jazz Age by reading The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald.

Amid the parties, the dancing, the drinking and the glamour – the American Dream went sour.

What went wrong?

Was Daisy Buchanan to blame?

Have you seen the new film? How does it compare to the book?

Posted on May 15, 2013, in Books, F Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great, I am going to re-read the book and go to see the film.

  2. Can’t wait to see the new film. Saw the old one with Robert Redford for the first time the other night, I enjoyed it but think I will enjoy the new one better! I’m looking forward to reading the novel for the first time and am seeing the ballet this weekend, should be exciting!!
    I’ve been waiting for the film to come out for so long as it should have come out last Christmas.

  3. I read it not long ago. I did enjoy it, found it quite affecting, and thought the writing was very good – precise, often spare, and yet rich too. But I never got fully emotionally involved for some reason – was always aware I was reading a book.

  4. I re-read the book a month ago to have a perspective on the inevitable Gatsby mania to come as the film opened. The book is very introspective and from the point of view of the narrator, Nick. The parties and flapper madness are really only alluded to, except for one scene; something you know is there but never really see, like the Evening Standard party pages! The book concentrates on the near isolation of the main characters and their problems with human communication, especially Gatsby; we do not really even know what he looks like. The only really developed character is the obscene, rich, racist Tom Buchanan, Daisy’s husband.
    Predictably the film is apparently just one long party (the trailer is enough, horrible, like X factor gone mad, silly artificial pantomine sets, props, etc). The very sensitive scene of Gatsby’s poor old dad coming to the funeral, trying to make sense of it all, is, I have read, ommited. Still, this is about the book, which I think is a great one, as good a comment on our dubious times as the 20’s and well worth reading, or reading again.

  5. I haven’t read the book to date, but the release of a new version of it on film has certainly sparked an interest in me. I have often been disappointed with the film version of a well loved tome and vice versa with the original book. One which comes to mind is Margaret Atwood’s Handmaid’s Tale. Does anyone have a favourite adaptation, or in fact a most hated adaptation that they’d like to share?

    • I thought the Handmaid’s Tale a good adaptation of the book. My favourite is of the book – Do Androids dream of electric sheep? by Philip K. Dick which became Blade Runner. Both good but very different.

  6. It’s wonderful to reread “The Great Gatsby” and to be reminded of what a truly unique writer Fitzgerald was. (Unfortunately I’m unable to go to the cinema and see the new film.) I first read Scott Fitzgerald in my teens, and was in such a state after “Tender Is The Night” that I walked around in a fog of distress about the characters for days. With Gatsby it’s different but no less striking – Fitzgerald has the incredible ability to write beautifully about horrendous events. Awful things don’t slap you in the face, they are like pieces of tragic music or exquisite pictures that wring your heart. To anyone wanting something lighter than Gatsby’s story, I’d recommend Scott Fitzgerald’s short stories, which are wonderful and bitter and funny and deadly. I’m glad to have rediscovered him.

Leave a Reply

Text Tribe

Let's talk about books

bookpeopleblog.wordpress.com/

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

Eleventh Stack

A books, movies, and more blog from the staff at the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Main.

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

